25 years of the Rippershausen plant - a look back

Shortly after German reunification

 

When the Willi Elbe Group founded a new location in Walldorf in 1992, German reunification had taken place only very recently. Several events and circumstances led to this pioneering decision by the company, taken during a period that was especially exciting both politically and economically. On the one hand, Mercedes-Benz Trucks, already a longtime customer, was planning to equip vehicles from existing GDR production with cabs manufactured by Mercedes-Benz Wörth in the then IFA plant in Ludwigsfelde. As part of the economic development program "Aufbau Ost", the Willi Elbe Group was asked if it had any interest in working together - in connection with the establishment of a production facility in East Germany. At a conference in the Ludwigsfede plant, contact was made with the VEB Gelenkwellenwerk Stadtilm-Thüringen. The Willi Elbe Group needed at that time additional manufacturing capacity for joint flanges. This was available there on a large scale.

 

At the same time, a request was received from Volkswagen regarding drive shafts for its successful Golf model at the VW Zwickau location. The company Robotron Meiningen had initially offered to manufacture parts for subcontractors at its plant in Walldorf, as a supplier to the Willi Elbe Group. Talks with plant director Günther Langguth, who later worked in Rippershausen himself, led to a different solution. Via the Treuhandanstalt, the corresponding part of the plant in Walldorf was acquired. Former Robotron employees were able to continue working seamlessly.

Successful search for a site

 

The physical proximity to Tamm and Pfedelbach was also one of the decisive factors in favor of Walldorf. Within South Thuringia , the then managing director Günter H. Elbe visited various locations, held intensive discussions with municipal authorities and company representatives, and took a lot of trouble over choosing a location. "What was important was that it would be possible to transport the goods back and forth in just one day with our own truck. And it was foreseeable that a motorway link would also be built in the short term, Günther H. Elbe recalls. Attractive investment allowances for machines from the "Aufbau Ost" program became available quite quickly. Without any major delays, the production of connection forks and peg carriers as well as complete joints began – laying the foundations for today's production.

Just four years after the plant was founded in Walldorf with 11 employees, the good order situation necessitated construction of the present-day location in nearby Rippershausen. Today, more than 160 employees work there on a production area of ​​around 9,000 sq m. Metalworking, hydroforming, state-of-the-art molding, linked assembly for high-volume manufacturing, laser welding, and plastic injection molding technology – what used to be an interim solution in a former GDR enterprise has developed into the production plant of an internationally successful automotive supplier.

TOP

25 Jahre Werk Rippershausen – ein Rückblick

Kurz nach der Wiedervereinigung

 

Als die Willi Elbe Group 1992 in Walldorf einen neuen Standort gründete, war die deutsche Wiedervereinigung noch junge Geschichte. Gleich mehrere Ereignisse und Umstände führten zu dieser richtungweisenden Entscheidung des Unternehmens in politisch wie wirtschaftlich besonders spannenden Zeiten. Zum einen plante Mercedes-Benz Trucks, schon damals langjähriger Kunde, im damaligen IFA-Werk Ludwigsfelde Lkw aus bestehender DDR-Produktion mit Fahrerhäusern, hergestellt bei Mercedes-Benz Wörth, auszurüsten. Im Rahmen des Wirtschaftsförderungsprogramms „Aufbau Ost“ wurde die Willi Elbe Group angefragt, ob Interesse an einer Zusammenarbeit bestünde – in Verbindung mit dem Aufbau einer Produktion in Ostdeutschland. Bei einer Tagung im Werk Ludwigsfelde kam der Kontakt mit dem VEB Gelenkwellenwerk Stadtilm-Thüringen zustande. Die Willi Elbe Group benötigte zu dieser Zeit zusätzliche Fertigungskapazitäten für Gelenkflansche. Diese wurden, im größeren Rahmen, dorthin vergeben.

 

Parallel ging eine Anfrage von Volkswagen in Bezug auf Gelenkwellen für das Erfolgsmodell Golf am VW-Standort Zwickau ein. Das Unternehmen Robotron Meiningen hatte zunächst angeboten, Zulieferteile in seinem Werk in Walldorf als Zulieferer der Willi Elbe Group herzustellen. Die Gespräche mit dem Werkleiter Günther Langguth, der später in selber Funktion in Rippershausen beschäftigt wurde, führten zu einer anderen Lösung. Über die Treuhandanstalt wurde der entsprechende Werksteil in Walldorf erworben. Ehemalige Robotron-Mitarbeiter konnten nahtlos weiterbeschäftigt werden.

Erfolgreiche Standortsuche

 

Die räumliche Nähe zu Tamm und Pfedelbach gab ebenfalls mit den Ausschlag für Walldorf. Innerhalb Südthüringens besuchte der damalige Geschäftsführer Günter H. Elbe verschiedene Orte, führte intensive Gespräche mit Gemeindeverwaltungen und Firmenvertretern und machte sich die Standortentscheidung nicht leicht. „Wichtig war, dass sich der Werksverkehr mit eigenem Lkw hin und zurück an nur einem Tag bewerkstelligen lässt. Und es war abzusehen, dass eine durchgehende Autobahnverbindung kurzfristig gebaut wird“, erinnert sich Günther H. Elbe. Attraktive Investitionszulagen für Maschinen aus dem Programm „Aufbau Ost“ standen recht schnell zur Verfügung. Ohne große Verzögerungen konnte die Fertigung von Anschlussgabeln und Zapfenmitnehmern sowie Komplettgelenken beginnen – und legte den Grundstein für die heutige Fertigung.

Schon vier Jahre nach der Werksgründung in Walldorf mit elf Mitarbeitern machte die gute Auftragslage die Errichtung des heutigen Standorts im nahegelegen Rippershausen erforderlich. Dort werden heute auf einer Produktionsfläche von rund 9.000 m2 mehr als 160 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter beschäftigt. Spanende Bearbeitung, Innenhochdruckumformen, modernste Umformung, verkettete Montage zur Großserienfertigung, Laserschweiß- und Kunststoffspritzgusstechnik: Aus der einstigen Übergangslösung in einem ehemaligen „volkseigenen Betrieb“ hat sich ein Produktionswerk eines international erfolgreichen Automobilzulieferers entwickelt.

OBEN